Facing your fears

Have you ever had to face your fears? I have multiple times throughout my lifetime. Whether, because I wanted to face them or just because I thought it was needed. My first encounter with my fear was with roller coasters. As I grew older I continued to feel forced to ride them just to not seem as if I was a huge cry baby. Over and over my dad would ask if I was alright inside I was crying and outside I was trembling. As each summer came around I would find myself dreading it as for the rest of the kids were celebrating.  I then came to a point in which I no longer wanted to be afraid. Each time after that I would trick my brain into thinking I was eager to aboard the coasters. Then when the rollercoaster started going I would act as I saw everybody else acting, another way in which I was tricking my brain. The process of tricking my brain seem a little far out but I began to notice in doing all of this I was not thinking about being afraid anymore. Along with not being afraid or thinking that I was afraid I noticed that I was actually having fun. Noticing that I could overcome things like this boasted my confidence and helped me tackle my future obstacles. Although facing your fears could be scary in the end they all have something beneficial at their endpoints. For me facing my fears taught me there are many scary things in the world but there is no reason to be afraid. I learned early that is something was going to happen there was not much you were going to be able to do about it. Looking at people around me I see that I faced my fears early and some other people are on the edge of adulthood and have still not faced their fears, even simple ones like being afraid of the dark. So facing your fears in my opinion facing your fears depends directly on that specific person and whether they have the will or ambition to overcome something so crucial in their lifetime.

Leave a comment